Member Login

Log in

2019 Governor's STEM Team - Scholarship

  • March 09, 2019
  • March 31, 2019
  • Online

 2019 Governor's STEM Team - Scholarship Application NOW Available! 

INDIANAPOLIS – Gov. Eric. J. Holcomb, Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jennifer McCormick and Treasurer of State Kelly Mitchell invite Hoosier students to apply for the 2019 Governor’s STEM Team (#GovSTEMteam). Gov. Holcomb developed the competition in 2017 to highlight Indiana’s elite high school students for their work in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

“A firm foundation in STEM offers Indiana high school students tremendous career opportunities,” Gov. Holcomb said. “I am proud to celebrate those who demonstrate excellence in science, technology, engineering, and math and look forward to showcasing the talents and achievements of our students.”

The program honors four outstanding high school students for their exemplary performance in one of the STEM subjects. Winning students each receive a $1,000 college scholarship from Indiana’s College Choice 529 Direct Savings plan, administered by Treasurer Mitchell, and letterman jackets identifying them as members of the Governor’s STEM Team.

The submission period for the competition opens today, and applications and nominations may be submitted online at the following link: The deadline for nominations is 11:59 p.m. ET on March 31.

“Engaging students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics prepares them for life beyond high school,” said Dr. McCormick. “I am excited for the submissions we will receive and look forward to recognizing our students’ creativity and passion for STEM.”

“It is a joy to team up with the Governor’s office to celebrate the achievements of so many talented Hoosier students,” said Treasurer Mitchell. “We are honored to be able to award them with a CollegeChoice529 scholarship.”

The Governor’s STEM Team builds on Indiana’s Mr. and Ms. Math and Science awards, which were created by Gov. Mitch Daniels in 2008. The Governor’s STEM Team program will honor the top high school students in STEM classes as well as extracurricular activities, work/research projects, leadership roles and community service. The nominations will be reviewed by a panel of STEM experts, including teachers, college and university instructors, and staff from the Indiana Department of Education and the State Board of Education.

Winners will be announced at a Statehouse ceremony in early May.

"The Hoosier Association of Science Teachers , Inc" is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 383, New Albany, IN  47151


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software