Log in

Clyde Motts Memorial Award
for Innovative High School Science Teaching

The Clyde Motts Award for Innovative High School Science Teaching is awarded annually by the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers, Inc, to an outstanding high school teacher who exhibits a passion for innovative science teaching.

In addition to the honor of being selected for this prestigious award, HASTI will present a cash award of $100.00, a one-year HASTI membership, and a recognition plaque to the recipient.

Nominees must be full-time classroom teachers in the state of Indiana (Certified Science Teacher in Grades 9-12). The nominee may, but is not required, to be a current HASTI member. 


HASTI recognizes outstanding Hoosier science educators who are innovators in their classrooms.   All recipients will be recognized at the HASTI Annual State Conference at the Awards Banquet in February 13, 2022.

Follow the directions below to ensure that applications are complete. 

1.   Online Registration 

Nominator completes the on-line awards application registration. Nominator provides nominee’s school information, contact information and A short (250 word or less) explanation of why your nominee deserves the award including an example of your nominee’s exemplary science teaching. Nomination Link

Either the nominator or nominee submits the following sections using either Word Document or PDF to the Awards Manager (awardsmanager@hasti.org)


2. Nominee Vita

            This section includes the nominee’s brief work history, honors or recognition received, or examples of leadership within profession, professional activities, and publications.


3. Nominee Photo

            Include one photo of the nominee.  This photo will be used for publicity should the nominee be selected as the awardee.

4.  Letters of Recommendation

Two supporting letters from administrator, student or parent, and/or a peer teacher.  One of these letters could be written by the nominator.  Support letters are limited to one single spaced, typed page.

Past Recipients

2020 - Kevin Leineweber

2019 - Robin Witty

2016 -  David Butler

2011 -  Allison Nixon

2008 -  Bayan Mujawaz 

2005 -  Scott Powell

2004 -  Walter Stephen Riggle 

2003 -  David R. James


"The Hoosier Association of Science Teachers , Inc" is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

P.O. Box 383, New Albany, IN  47151

Email:  Executivedirector@hasti.org   


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software