Log in




Log in

Charlotte M. Boener Memorial Award
for OUTSTANDING Middle School Science Teaching

The Charlotte Boener Award for Outstanding Middle School Science Teaching is awarded annually by the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers, Inc. to an outstanding middle school teacher who exhibits a passion for innovative science teaching.

In addition to the honor of being selected for this prestigious award, HASTI will present a cash award of $100.00, a one-year HASTI membership, and a recognition plaque to the recipient.

Nominees must be full-time Indiana certified middle/intermediate level classroom science teachers. The nominee may, but is not required, to be a current HASTI member.

Teachers may self-nominate for this award.


HASTI recognizes outstanding Hoosier science educators who are innovators in their classrooms.   All recipients will be recognized at the HASTI Annual State Conference at the Awards Ceremony/Reception in February 2023.

Follow the directions below to ensure that applications are complete. 

1.   Online Registration 

Nominator completes the on-line awards application registration. Nominator provides nominee’s school information, contact information and A short (250 word or less) explanation of why your nominee deserves the award including an example of your nominee’s exemplary science teaching. Nomination Link

Either the nominator or nominee submits the following sections using either Word Document or PDF to the Awards Manager (


2. Nominee Vita

            This section includes the nominee’s brief work history, honors or recognition received, or examples of leadership within profession, professional activities, and publications.


3. Nominee Photo

            Include one photo of the nominee.  This photo will be used for publicity should the nominee be selected as the awardee.

4.  Letters of Recommendation

Two supporting letters from administrator, student or parent, and/or a peer teacher.  One of these letters could be written by the nominator.  Support letters are limited to one single spaced, typed page.

Submit nomination and supporting materials to the following weblink:

Deadline -  November 1, 2023

2019 Awardee

Robin Coffman

Lakeview Middle School

Warsaw, IN

2019 Awardee

Caitlyn Richardson

Chapel Hill School

Indianapolis, IN

2018 Awardee

Stacie Stoffregen

Greencastle Middle School

Greencastle, IN

Past Recipients

2014 -  Samantha Joll
2010 -  Cheryl Henry
2008 -  Ben Barkey
2006 -  Bradley S. DeHoff
2003 -  Cherish Long Easton
2005 -  Lisa Laurito


"The Hoosier Association of Science Teachers , Inc" is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

P.O. Box 383, New Albany, IN  47151



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software